Troop 39 scouters honoured at Shakori District 2016 Awards Banquet

Glenn Benton receiving his award from Sammy Rape

Assistant Scoutmaster Glenn Benton was awarded the BSA Shakori District’s Assistant Scoutmaster of the Year 2016 award. 

In his nomination, Troop 39 Scoutmaster Sammy Rape wrote: “Glenn Benton has done a tremendous job as our New Scout Transition Coordinator. In that position, he leads the recruiting efforts of Webelos scouts from Packs in our area. He leads the organization of our Field Day program to help prospective scouts and their parents learn about our troop. He uses extraordinary efforts to integrate our new scouts and their parents into our troop, once they have joined. His efforts have significantly increased membership in our troop over the last number of years.
Glenn Benton has made a real difference in the health and vibrancy of our troop and I am pleased to nominate him as Shakori Assistant Scoutmaster of the Year.”


Diane Meyer with Order of the Arrow Chapter Advisor Carlton McKee

Diane Meyer was awarded the BSA Shakori District’s venturing Advisor of the Year 2016 award for her commitment to Crew 39. 

Diane has always set the example of what leadership should be. Venture crew 39 has never been a large crew yet she has been diligently working to maintain the crew operational by encouraging members to attend and help expand the crew in order to ensure that everyone has the best experience possible. In addition to her dedication, her organizational skills and making herself easily reachable and more importantly, easily approachable, have had an amazing impact on Crew 39 as well as Troop 39 where she had served as advancement chair and is  now an assistant scoutmaster. Crew members would have been lost without her!



Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.